Date - August 21, 2017

Big Races

In this section takes a look at the overall history of the big races that have shaped the pattern system for Ireland and the UK and have defined horse racing’s champions. From the Cheltenham Festival to the Grand National, Epsom Derby, Royal Ascot, York’s Ebor meeting, Newbury’s Winter Festival and Kempton’s King George VI Chase, gives you insight into the famous winners that have made these races so prestigious.

1 2 3 21

Big Race History: Nunthorpe Stakes

To many racing fans August first and foremost represents the Ebor Festival Meeting at York. The Ebor festival was first established in 1843 with the first running of the Ebor Handicap and the meeting now covers four days of exquisite… Read More

Big Race History: Yorkshire Oaks

The Yorkshire Oaks is one of the major races at York’s prestigious Ebor Festival each August.

Established in 1849, the race has been a Group 1 contest since 1971 and is run over a mile and a half.

Originally the… Read More

Big Race History: Nassau Stakes

Established in 1840, the Nassau Stakes was named in recognition of the friendship between the fifth Duke of Richmond and the Dutch Royal Family, the House of Orange and Nassau.

The race was restricted to three-year-old fillies for the first… Read More

Big Race History: Goodwood Cup

One of the oldest events in the Flat calendar, the Goodwood Cup was established in 1812 as a three-mile race.

The distance dropped to two miles in 1825 and then settled at two miles and five furlongs from 1833 before… Read More

Big Race History: Sussex Stakes

High class championship racing over a mile, on the glorious undulations of the South Downs. Glorious Goodwood takes place at the height of the English summer’s splendour and offers racing fans five days of top class action, with the Sussex… Read More

1 2 3 21